Process of making my final

May 21, 2009

alright so after all this wonderful research I began my Comic and Finished 2 pages. It not much at all.. but I really could’nt care less. I have such a greater understand of the process behind making a comic. There is obvisously more to learn but i am confident i could keep working on this and with the tools i used on it i could create some wicked shit. (that would come with experience though.)

My process was pretty much the same with every image i made. I would make my background using the polygon lasso tool and the ‘fill bucket’ to colour it. anything i did free hand didn’t work. it was too uncontrolled. hopefully as i get better at this game i will be able to free hand my pictures but at the moment im going to stick with what i can handle and embrace the controlled lines and colours and use them to my advantage to make my own aesthetic quality.

Making loads of digital paintings leading up to this seemed like a waste of time but i really helped me understand colours a lot better. Thats the trick with painting, colour!

When i came to do my second page, i had learned that i need to plan the layout of my page before starting my images.

Here’s an image of my planned page. After  i drew the frames i made boxes like the blue one then extracted that box into a seperate document so i could keep the original page plan untouched. this ppage is of the next page i was going to create but ran out of time.

page-layout

your-dead

this is the finished result of the blue box. omg im writing this blog at 4:04 am and it feels if im sitting up really high….

This next image to me F&*kn ages i got carried away so after the background was finished i decided enough was enough. but im real stoked with it, it shows how im progressing with every image.

meanwhile-in-a-bar-(final)

I would of never thought i could do that city but i did! i took me like 8 hours but ma. I now know how to make a city scape.

city

i know if i did this city again it would take a quarter of the time.

ok anyway after I make the background i free hand the figure in, (shown in the image 2 above and  below)

free-hand-first

another-free-hand

I used the Vector Tool to go round the sketched lines on another layer.

vector-lines

after this i just paint fill it in put some shadows on it and BAM!! done.

I really wanted to make my comic pages a unique piece of art so you can look at the page as a whole and love the beauty of it. I know that it doesn’t have the best flow as other comics but considering i picked up on this im sure that will improve.

I am presenting it in a classic manner, the comic book! with a title page and a page inside. It will be highly finished all glossed up like the real thing. I have to fugure out a way of controlling the variation of colours from a computer screen to ink… hmmm.

The thing that is really screwing with my head apart from the lack of sleep is coming uo with a title. I want it to be efficient…if thats the word im looking for. Im pretty sure i want it to start with the year. (either 2511 or 2522) 2522: system earth …i dunno i dont care its too late to. This assignment has been about learning How to make a comic book. Im going to go sleep.

Here are my images from the final comic page:

run (3) copy

run faster! copystunned copydeadend copy

caught copykilller copy

sneaky-pole

take-a-swing!

gap-it

gun-to-body

girl-face

your-dead

Layed out for hard copy… colours are a bit different on different computers (which annoys me…)

2-page-title-layout-flat

inside-print

Leave a comment